Auto Insurance in Virginia
There some regulations you are required to know regarding auto insurance in Virginia. If you want to make sure you and your assets are protected from accident and the potential for penalty from the state, you need to know the following facts.
Auto Insurance in Virginia
You will not be able to register a vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless you can prove that you have liability insurance that meets certain coverage levels. It is possible to opt out of this requirement if you instead choose to the $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee to the government. Paying the fee does not grant you any coverage in the event that you are in an accident, but it does allow you to legally register and drive a vehicle in the Commonwealth. It is important to note the the $500 fee only applies to one registration period. When it is time to renew registration for you vehicle, you will have to pay the same fee again.
Many drivers find that purchasing liability auto insurance in Virginia is the better decision. The threat of being liable for thousands and thousands of dollars of damage resulting from an accident is enough to motivate most people to obtain compliant auto insurance in Virginia.
If you are caught operating a vehicle without insurance and without proof that you have paid the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee, then your license will be suspended. You cannot achieve reinstatement until you pay $530 in fees and file proof of financial responsibility to the DMV.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Virginia
If you choose to obtain liability auto insurance, there are certain minimum standards that apply in Virginia. You must make sure that your policy will at least cover:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 total property damage per accident
Virginia’s minimum coverage standards are about middle of the pack when compared to all other states. Most experts agree that even state minimum standards in the higher range do not provide drivers with adequate protection for all eventualities. In the event that you are in a catastrophic accident, you may find that Virginia minimum standard liability insurance does not provide you with enough financial protection. To better protect yourself and your loved ones on the road, you should enter your zip code on this page and compare quotes for more comprehensive insurance.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Virginia
The Commonwealth of Virginia requires drivers to obtain protection against uninsured and underinsured drivers. Coverage minimums for UM/UIM insurance are the same as the standards required for liability insurance. Obviously, this requirement does not apply to drivers who pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Virginia
Drivers do not need to carry no-fault insurance.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection is not a requirement in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
You will be required to file an SR-22 document with the DMV if you are asked to show proof of financial responsibility after being caught driving without insurance or after a DUI conviction. There may be other circumstances in which the state will require an SR-22.
Virginia’s DUI Laws
First time offenders face a long list of potential penalties after they have been convicted of a DUI. The Commonwealth of Virginia may punish these offenders with:
- Minimum 5 days imprisonment if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
- 5 days imprisonment if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.15% to 0.20%
- 10 days imprisonment if BAC is above 0.20%
- Minimum $250 fine
- Add $500 to $1,000 if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
- 1 year license suspension
- Ignition interlock if BAC is 0.15% and above
- Alcohol safety program
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Virginia
The Virginia Bureau of Insurance can provide motorists with additional information about auto insurance in Virginia. Their office phone number is (800) 552-7945 and you can find them online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)