Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

If you are looking for the facts about auto insurance in Wisconsin, you have come to the right place. Many regulations apply to liability, no-fault, underinsured/uninsured motorist, and other forms of auto coverage. Read this guide to find all the information you need gathered into one resource.

Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

Wisconsin drivers must either maintain liability auto insurance and carry valid proof of their policy in their vehicle at all times, or they must prove financial responsibility to state officials and carry written verification. Many severe penalties apply to drivers caught without the proper insurance or without proof of financial responsibility. If you want to avoid potential fines or suspension of driving privileges, your best option may be to obtain compliant liability auto insurance in Wisconsin.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

As stated above, liability auto insurance is a must in Wisconsin if you choose not to take extra steps to choose other means of financial responsibility. In order to have liability insurance that is considered compliant, you must maintain a policy that at least covers:

- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident

These amounts may sound like a lot, but most experts agree that state minimum standards do not protect drivers in every kind of accident. If you are involved in a serious collision, you could be liable for tens of thousands of dollars resulting from bodily injury and property damage. With rising costs in hospital care, rehabilitation services, and vehicle repairs, you kind find yourself in a financial bind. You may want to think about adding comprehensive or collision coverage to your policy. Regardless of what level of coverage you wish to purchase, it is easy to find the best deal available in your area if you enter your zip code in the form on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

Wisconsin is one of the many states that requires drivers to carry protection against uninsured and underinsured drivers. Not everyone is following the state mandate for auto insurance. In order to improve your chances of suffering a financial calamity when struck by a driver without proper insurance, the state demands that you carry UM/UIM insurance that meets the same minimum coverage standard for bodily injury per person and per accident that apply to liability insurance.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

No-fault auto insurance is not a requirement.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection is not required.

SR-22 Requirements

The state will inform you if you are required to file an SR-22 document as part of the reinstatement process after your driving privileges have been suspended. In the State of Wisconsin, drivers must go through this process after they are suspended for driving without insurance.

Wisconsin’s DUI Laws

Wisconsin hands out some stiff penalties for first time DUI offenders. These include:

- $150 to $300 fine
- 6 to 9 months license suspension
- Restricted license possible
- Alcohol assessment
- SR-22 insurance required

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

The Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance can provide you with additional information regarding auto insurance in Wisconsin. Call (800) 236-8517 or go to their website at for help.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!