Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in New Mexico

Are you wondering about auto insurance laws in New Mexico. If you are a resident of the state and you own a vehicle, there are some regulations that apply to your auto coverage. Make sure you have all the facts you need before you shop for insurance. You can use this guide as a quick reference for all the major laws pertaining to auto insurance in New Mexico.

Auto Insurance in New Mexico

Unless you can provide a cash deposit or surety bond of at least $60,000, you are going to have to purchase liability auto insurance in order to drive legally in New Mexico. Law enforcement requires drivers to provide proof of insurance during any traffic stop or after an accident. Therefore, you must always carry an insurance card or other proof of coverage in your vehicle.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in New Mexico

Your liability auto insurance must meet certain requirements. In order to comply with the law, you need to make sure your policy covers at least:

- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident

If you want to feel adequately protected on the road, you might want to follow the advice that most experts give. In most cases, people knowledgeable about auto insurance will tell you that state minimum coverage standards do not provide drivers with enough protection. You should look into comprehensive or collision coverage if you want better insurance. You can find great deals on all kinds of auto insurance in New Mexico by entering your zip code on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in New Mexico

The State of New Mexico does not require any auto insurance extensions beyond minimum liability coverage.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in New Mexico

New Mexico does not have laws pertaining to no-fault insurance. That means drivers do not need to have this kind of protection.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

New Mexico drivers are not required to carry personal injury protection in their insurance policy.

SR-22 Requirements

In most states, a person must file an SR-22 form if they have been suspended from driving and want to earn reinstatement. This is not the case in New Mexico. No SR-22 is required for reinstatement.

New Mexico’s DWI Laws

Potential penalties apply to all people convicted of a first time DUI offense in New Mexico. These include:

- Up to 90 days imprisonment
- Up to one year license suspension
- Up to one year with an ignition interlock device
- DWI school
- Alcohol evaluation
- Community service
- Possible alcohol treatment

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in New Mexico

This guide has all the key facts pertaining to auto insurance in New Mexico. If you still have questions about special cases, you should contact the New Mexico PRC Department of Insurance at (888) 427-5772. Visit their website at www.nmprc.state.nm.us/id.htm if you prefer to contact them online.

Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest rates from only $19!
Start Here
Enter your zip code
Your Neighborhood
Current Average Savings
$230
Competing quotes from 25+ top insurance companies
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!