Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Alaska

This article contains all the information you need about laws and regulations regarding auto insurance in Alaska. You need to find compliant coverage and always keep proof of insurance in your vehicle. Read on to avoid any potential fines and penalties for driving without proper coverage.

Auto Insurance in Alaska

Some minimum standards apply to auto insurance in Alaska. If you want to drive without fear of having your driving privileges revoked, you should find coverage that meets the minimum requirements.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Arizona

For each accident your insurance needs to have coverage of at least:

- $25,000 for property damage
- $50,000 for bodily injury for each person
- $100,000 for total bodily injury

According to Alaska statute 28.22.019, drivers are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. Qualifying proof includes a copy of the auto insurance policy purchased by the driver or a certificate of self-insurance. Drivers must also carry an identification card so it can be cross referenced with the name on the proof of insurance.

You will be asked to show proof of insurance any time you are pulled over by law enforcement or after any accident leading to damages valued at $501 or more.

Penalties for Failure to Comply with Laws Regarding Auto Insurance in Alaska

If you cannot produce proof of your auto insurance when asked to by law enforcement, you will be subject to suspension of driving privileges. You must go through the reinstatement process in order to regain those privileges. There will be a reinstatement fee and forms to fill out.

What the Experts Suggest

Shopping for sufficient auto insurance in Alaska might be more complicated than simply looking for a policy that meets the state’s minimum standard. Most experts say that state coverage requirements are lagging far behind the inflation rates that apply to medical care and car repair. If you are involved in an accident, the minimum coverage may not provide sufficient protection for you or your passengers. You will be sure to find an affordable policy that meets all of your needs if you enter your zip code in the form at the top of this page.

No-Fault Requirements

Alaskan drivers are not required to include no-fault insurance in their policies. The same can be said for coverage relating to accidents with uninsured and underinsured motorists as well as for personal injury protection. While you do not need them to secure qualifying auto insurance in Alaska, they might be options that make sense for your situation.

The SR-22 Form

You must fill out and submit an SR-22 form, along with your reinstatement fee, to regain your driving privileges after an incident that lead to the suspension of your license. These documents go to the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles and they must be filed within three years.

Alaska’s DUI Laws

A first DUI offense can lead to 72 hours of jail time, a $1,500 fine, and a temporary suspension of driving privileges. The suspension of a driver’s license will last at least 90 days, even on the first offense. In order to achieve reinstatement after a suspension resulting from a DUI conviction, a driver must file an SR-22 form and pay the reinstatement fee.

Find Out More About Auto Insurance in Alaska

There are many regulations that apply to auto insurance in Alaska. To make sure you are in full compliance, you should visit the Alaska Division of Insurance at www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance/. You may reach them by phone at (907) 465-2515.

Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest rates from only $19!
Start Here
Enter your zip code
Your Neighborhood
Current Average Savings
$232
Competing quotes from 25+ top insurance companies
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State