Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in South Dakota

Before you can be ready to shop for auto insurance in South Dakota, you need to get fully acquainted with all the laws and regulations in your state. South Dakota has unique laws regarding liability coverage, no-fault coverage, and other facets of auto insurance. To find out what you are required to have, read this simple guide to auto insurance in South Dakota.

Auto Insurance in South Dakota

First and foremost, South Dakota drivers must understand that they are required to have liability auto insurance. Another part of the liability insurance law states that drivers must carry proof of insurance with them in their vehicle at all times.

There are no exceptions in the State of South Dakota. If you operate a registered vehicle in the state, you are legally required to obtain proper levels of insurance or to provide proof of financial responsibility to the government.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in South Dakota

When you obtain liability insurance, you must make sure that it provides coverage that at least meets the state’s minimum standards. Here are the specific amounts you need to be covered for:

- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident

Keep in mind that these coverage totals represent the minimum legal standard, not necessarily the suggested amount that you should actually purchase. In fact, most experts agree that state minimum coverage amounts do not provide drivers with an adequate amount of protection. If you want to have adequate coverage that can protect you even in the event of a catastrophic accident, or one not covered by standard liability insurance, you should aim higher. No matter what kind of auto insurance works for you, you should do yourself a favor and start by entering your zip code on this page. It is easy to save money and find high quality coverage if you use the quote form at the top of the page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in South Dakota

To protect drivers in situations where they are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, the State of South Carolina currently requires UM/UIM coverage.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in South Dakota

South Carolina drivers are not required to carry any form of no-fault insurance.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection is no-fault insurance that applies to some medical and non-medical expenses resulting from accidents. It is not required in South Carolina.

SR-22 Requirements

If you are caught driving without insurance, or if you are convicted of a DUI or similar offense, you probably will be required to file an SR-22 document with the DMV. This is South Carolina’s way of forcing suspended drivers to prove they have the minimum amount of auto insurance before reinstatement.

South Dakota’s DUI Laws

Drivers convicted of a DUI face stiff penalties in South Carolina. Here is a list of the potential penalties that could apply to a first time offender:

- Up to one year imprisonment
- $1,000 fine
- 30 days to one year license suspension
- Possible restricted license
- SR-22 insurance required

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in South Dakota

Anyone looking for additional information about auto insurance in South Dakota should turn to the South Dakota Division of Insurance. You can reach this agency over the phone at (605) 773-3563 and online at www.state.sd.us/drr2/reg/insurance/index.html.

Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest rates from only $19!
Start Here
Enter your zip code
Your Neighborhood
Current Average Savings
$237
Competing quotes from 25+ top insurance companies
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State