Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Do you need to know more about auto insurance in Wyoming? There are some laws and regulations that apply to all drivers and vehicles in the state. To make sure you are educated on the laws that apply to you, read this informative guide focusing on auto insurance in Wyoming.

Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Drivers are required to maintain liability auto insurance and law enforcement has the right to request a driver’s proof of insurance at any moment. Wyoming drivers should not assume that they will only be required to show proof of insurance after an accident. If a driver fails to show valid proof during a routine traffic stop or at another time when requested by law enforcement, the driver will have one week to present proof to authorities. Offenders are looking at potential maximum penalties that include up $750 in fines, up to six months in jail, or both.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Wyoming

it is not enough to have just any kind of liability auto insurance policy. The state has a list of minimum coverage requirements that your policy must meet or exceed. You must be able to cover at least:

- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 total property damage per accident

You might think that these totals sound high, but most experts would inform you that these minimums represent a level of coverage that could expose you to financial risk in some situations. In the event of a serious car wreck, you could be left to foot the bill for a significant portion of the damages. To avoid that result, experts advise seeking extensions like collision and comprehensive insurance to cover all the possibilities. It is easy to shop for a great deal on any kind of auto insurance in Wyoming if you enter your zip code on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Wyoming

This type of coverage is not required.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Wyoming drivers are not required to carry any kind of extensions like no-fault or UM/UIM coverage on their policy.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

There are no personal injury protection requirements in Wyoming.

SR-22 Requirements

Certain drivers must file an SR-22 form with the Wyoming DMV. The state will inform drivers when they are required to file this document to show financial responsibility after a driving offense.

Wyoming’s DUI Laws

Wyoming DUI laws call for certain punishments for first time offenders. If you are convicted of this offense for the first time, you can expect:

- Up 6 months imprisonment
- Up to $750 fine
- 90 day license suspension
- Ignition interlock for 6 months if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.15%
- Substance abuse assessment

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Any additional information about auto insurance in Wyoming can be found on the Wyoming Insurance Department website at You can call this department at (307) 777-7402 if you have questions.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!