Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Maryland

It is not easy to keep pace with laws pertaining to auto insurance in Maryland. If you are not sure about the requirements you face regarding liability auto insurance, no-fault coverage, and personal injury protection, you should read this short guide. All the information you need is right here.

Auto Insurance in Maryland

Liability auto insurance is mandatory in Maryland, and there are strict penalties waiting for drivers who choose to disobey the law. It is very important to stay prepared by always keeping proof of insurance in your vehicle. Failure to produce proof of insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer could result in suspension of your license plate and vehicle registration.

If you fail to pay the premium to your insurance company, you will be subject to a $150 fine for the first month. After that, the fine adds up at the rate of $7 a day.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Maryland

Your liability auto insurance policy must cover no less than:

- $30,000 bodily injury per person
- $60,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 total property damage per accident

While these minimums are average to slightly above average compared to the required coverage minimums in other states, most experts will still tell you that this is an inadequate level of protection. The rising costs of medical care and vehicle repair make it difficult for state laws to keep pace. You might want to consider adding comprehensive and collision coverage to make sure you are fully protected from financial ruin. Excellent coverage from the top providers in your area can be affordable if you enter your zip code on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Maryland

Maryland drivers are required to carry UM/UIM insurance that covers both property damage and bodily injury. This insurance in held to the same minimum standards that apply to liability coverage.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Maryland

No-fault auto insurance is not required by the State of Maryland.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection is not required to be carried on a drivers insurance policy.

SR-22 Requirements

There are several infractions that could lead to the state requiring you to file an SR-22 document. In many cases, people convicted of a DUI or people caught driving without proper insurance are asked to submit SR-22 forms. Not all states have this requirement, but Maryland currently demands this action from certain drivers.

Maryland’s DUI Laws

Even a first DUI conviction can lead to severe penalties. This is true for many states and Maryland is no different. A first time DUI offense in this state can potentially lead to:

- Up to one year imprisonment
- Up to two years if minor is present in vehicle
- Minimum six month license suspension
- Up to $1,000 fine
- Up to $2,000 fine if minor is present in vehicle

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Maryland

You may have a special case that requires more in-depth information from the state government. If you need to know more about auto insurance in Maryland, just call the Maryland Insurance Administration at (410) 468-2000. You can also contact them online by visiting their website at

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!