Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Texas

Do you know all the insurance laws in the Lone Star State? This guide has all the facts that pertain to no-fault requirements and liability auto insurance in Texas. It does not have to be complicated to understand the law and find the right coverage for your vehicle. Everything you need is right here.

Auto Insurance in Texas

According to Texas law, all drivers must have liability auto insurance and carry a valid form of proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. Insurance companies are required to send Texas policyholders an insurance card that will verify your compliance with state laws. You must be able to present this card whenever law enforcement asks to see proof of insurance. You may be required to show the card:

- After an accident
- When you register a vehicle for the first time or renew registration
- When you acquire or renew a driver’s license
- When your vehicle is inspected

Failure to comply with the state’s laws regarding auto insurance will lead to substantial penalties. First time offenders face fines ranging from $175 to $350. Multiple offenses lead to bigger fines, suspension of license, and potential impoundment of vehicle.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Texas

In order to meet Texas’ standards for liability auto insurance, your policy must meet certain coverage standards. When you are shopping for a policy make sure you can cover at least:

- $30,000 bodily injury per person
- $60,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident

You cannot drive legally if your coverage standards are below these minimums. Driving with little or no coverage is a big financial risk. You can be held liable for damages incurred from an accident. To avoid bankruptcy from huge medical care and vehicle repair bills after a collision, you should consider getting coverage that exceeds the state’s minimums. If you enter your zip code in the form at the top of this page, you can find the best price available for comprehensive auto insurance in Texas.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Texas

UM/UIM is not a mandatory requirement in the State of Texas.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Texas

Texas does not have any no-fault laws. No-fault insurance is optional.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Texas drivers are not required to carry any type of personal injury protection on their policy.

SR-22 Requirements

Drivers who have been convicted of offenses like diving under the influence or operating a vehicle without insurance may be subject to different requirements regarding proof of insurance. The state may ask these drivers to file an SR-22 document in order to prove minimum insurance compliance.

DUI Laws in Texas

Texas hands out stiff punishment to DUI offenders. Upon the first offense, your penalties could include:

- 72 hours to 180 days imprisonment
- 180 days to 2 years imprisonment if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
- 90 days to 1 year license suspension
- Up to $2,000 fine
- Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
- $1,000 DUI surcharge per year for 3 years
- $2,000 DUI surcharge per year for 3 years if BAC is 0.16% and above

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Texas

The Texas Department of Insurance should be your first stop for additional information pertaining to auto insurance in Texas. You can call them at (800) 252-3439 or go to their website at www.tdi.state.tx.us.

Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest rates from only $19!
Start Here
Enter your zip code
Your Neighborhood
Current Average Savings
$257
Competing quotes from 25+ top insurance companies
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State